Wattpad’s Unsung Hero

IMG_7839.JPG

Wattpad.

It had to be one of the strangest words I’ve ever heard in my life. And I didn’t know much about it. All I knew was that it existed and you could write stories on it.

My Wattpad journey began in the winter of 2012, when I was a sophomore in high school.

I don’t really remember how I found the iPhone app (originally a website ) but I did. And I rushed to school to tell my friend about it. And then she joined. And then another girl that we knew told us she had an account and we read her stories. And by the end of the year, we’d created a small Wattpad Community of our own.

On Wattpad, there’s no rules. You can do, create, say anything. And in result, you get praised with votes and comments and the Watty Awards.

This has brought me to shining a light on my all-time favorite Wattpader: eavesdrop_ and her novel: Smudged Ink!

IMG_7840.PNG

I first embarked on SI on a plane ride from Vegas to home, finishing all 101chapters in one sitting.

It’s the story of a boy named Xavier who’s current life is wrapped in a girl named Serenity. (This kinda reminds me of The Perks of Being a Wallflower. The entire novel, neither characters speak to one another. And as for poor X, well…he lives vicariously through her, following her around in the shadows and looking through her window.

But there is a happy ending (kinda.): Serenity FINALLY writes to him…while she’s in rehab.

It is by far the best Wattpad story I’ve read in 2 years. With it’s powerful and moving sentences about borderline rejection, to it’s tugging of heartstrings when Serenity finally writes back, Smudged Ink is for any YA junkie.

Also: if you have a Wattpad novel you’d like me to review, please tweet me or leave a comment!

Until we read again,
Courtney

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, Unsung Authors, Wattpad, Writing is Glorious

Leave a comment